Backpackers Of America
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  5.0
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"Good experience"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Amy W. of qld, Australia
Reviewed:   April 3, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I had a good time staying at Azaleas Place Guest House. It's a family run business. We met the mother, daughter, son-in-law and the very cute 2-year grandchild. The place is simple but clean. We appreciate the experience staying there because it's located among local residence and it's a good way to see how the local live. Also, the family was so helpful, they gave us all the sight-seeing information we needed to know, and the son-in-law actually drove us around the whole day to different sight seeing places. Really lovely people.

"Wonderful Service. Modest but clean and quiet accomodations."

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   JP A. of Santa Clara, United States
Reviewed:   November 30, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in one of the 4 rooms in this guest house, which are directly located above the two apartments of the owners of the house, who are running this as their main business. Breakfast is served downstairs in the main room facing the owner's apartments. Marcelo and his wife Romina and mother Norma are all very charming and made sure we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. In my opinion this beats the impersonal experience offered by most hotels many times more expensive.
The rooms themselves are very small but well laid out and clean, and very reasonably priced. The pool is new and was just completed a few weeks ago, and looks nice although a little small. Marcello also runs a side taxi business and did an excellent job at taking us everywhere we wanted to, and back, for a very reasonable price.
The main downside is that the house is located 3 blocks away from the main road, in a residential area without paved roads. When it rains, these streets turn immediately into red mud, and walking to the bus stop can become quite difficult. I am not sure if other taxi cabs would even want to adventure down those roads either. Fortunately this hasn't been a problem for us as Marcelo was always happy to give us a ride to wherever we wanted to go, even late into the night.
Another, smaller problem, is that WiFi is not available, however GSM 3G service works well if you have an international data plan for your smartphone.

"Azaleas was great!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Gordon P. of Colorado, United States
Reviewed:   March 24, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My wife and I stayed 2 nights while visiting the falls. Norma and her entire family treated us great and like family. They picked us up at the airport which was very convenient. Their guest house is a great value and is located in a rustic area just on the outskirts of town, but not far from the park entrance and a bus stop. Very charming. I would highly encourage those traveling to see the falls to stay with Norma.

"Enjoyable Stay at the Azaleas Place"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Gaeétan P. of Montreal, Canada
Reviewed:   November 24, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed 3 days at this wonderful guest house.

The service level from the owner and her daughter were outstanding. They were helpful at finalizing our local travel details along at providing us an affordable & very flexible taxi service to get to the city and to the various visiting sites.

The room was a bit small but confortable.

Overall, we are strongly recommanding to stay at this place.

"Would return in a heartbeat!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Katie M. of New York, NY, United States
Reviewed:   September 4, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I'm a huge fan of the quirky B&B experience (mostly in Europe), and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Azaleas. The owner and her adult children could not have been more helpful or concerned that I was comfortable and happy. Now, for the specifics...

LOCATION: It's not in the town center, but it's on the main road toward the Iguazu Falls amongst half the major accommodation options in Puerto Iguazu (between the Hotel Orchideas and Hotel Carmen, to be exact). This place is set back about a 5-minute walk from the main road in the Barrio Orchideas, which is new to the point of not even being paved yet (but it's very navigable - one of the local buses actually goes through it). It's clearly a good neighborhood, totally safe, some of the houses are truly lovely, and since the Argentinians are late risers and value their sleep, noise is absolutely not an issue. I loved the quiet and the completely non-touristy feel of staying here. One of the things I appreciated about the location was its proximity to the Hostel-Inn youth hostel across the main road - it's kind of noisy there, but popular with travellers of all ages and they don't care if non-guests use their swimming pool and wireless internet, and their food and entertainment is a decent value...so if you travel solo like I do, value your privacy and peace, but feel the urge to be social from time to time, this is a great arrangement.

SERVICE: Fantastic!! Norma, the owner, comes out to greet you whenever you return from your adventures and is genuinely interested in making sure you're having a great overall experience of Iguazu. Romina, the owner's daughter, is happy to give you a lift into the town center for free, which I often took advantage of at dinnertime. She also offers airport transfers for half the standard cost of a taxi. They haven't set up WiFi yet (I think they're planning to soon), but they freely offer their computer so you can check email. Norma also offers a disposable poncho (useful if you're going on the boat tour under the falls) and insect repellant for ~10 pesos - take the offer! The poncho alone costs twice as much at the falls. And definitely hit them up for restaurant recommendations, because most places you're likely to stumble into in Puerto Iguazu are a poor value.

ROOM: The pictures on this site are pretty accurate - the size was comfortable, the bed was firm, and it felt homier than I'd expected (which I consider a good thing). My only "complaint" would be the lack of a bedside reading lamp. They were also kind enough to lend me a universal adapter, since I foolishly thought their plugs were the same shape as US ones.

BREAKFAST: Standard B&B breakfast in Argentina is continental-style, and here it's delivered to your room. There's a patio with a table right outside the rooms - perfect for a sunny breakfast. I explained to Norma that I'd lost over 30kg and didn't want to chow down on sugary pastries, so just coffee would be fine, no need to waste food. The next morning, my breakfast tray held diet liquid sugar, wholegrain breadsticks and fruit - without my asking. How thoughtful was that!


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




BackpackersOfAmerica Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us