Backpackers Of America
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.3

"Very Bad Experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Luiz V. of Manaus, Brazil
Reviewed:   April 7, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I did a reservation, and even when I called 1 day before my arrival saying that I'll cannot reach in city on time and asking for cancel the reservation, Im beeing charged for the full reservation and for the entire week, for me it's like stealing you.

"Change of address and not opening the dore"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   J-B S. of Zürich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   January 27, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The address has changed compared to the Lonly plane 2010 edition.
Whent to the new address and found it, but after ringing the bell 20 minutes (at 7:30 am) nobody opend the door.

I wound up going to the Santa Lugia Hostel, which I can recomend alllot (independent to the feedback on Luz Azul).

"bad"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   J F. of adam, United States
Reviewed:   December 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
don t book a private room here.

"Luz Azul- Stay Clear"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Paul M. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   June 24, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Disaster. We were at the end of four months travelling in South America and had booked two nights arriving at 4.30am on the first. We sent an email to confirm our arrival time and check whether the reception would be open at that time- to which we recieved no reply. We travelled all day/night from Colombia to arrive at 4.30am with no answer at reception.

Having spent several hours in the cold we were greeted by possibly the world's least helpful person who informed us that our room had been given away as they thought we were arriving the previous night. They didn't think to email us about this either. Despite the fact that we had a prior booking and the second party had not arrived they refused to give us our room. Having spoken directly to the manager, excuses ranged from;

- 'We didn't get your email, we've got three address don't you know'

Not my fault. I sent email through your website and recieved a confirmation email.

- 'The system automatically gives the room away if you don't show up'

Well, it's a pretty cr@p system that can't be over ridden by a person with a brain.

Don't stay here. It's cold on the doorstep.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




BackpackersOfAmerica Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us