Backpackers Of America
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.3

"Insalubre"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Josee L. of Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   March 24, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2020     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
J’ai réservé cet auberge en me fiant sur les photos...un peu comme tout le monde. Malheureusement, l’état de la chambre et surtout de la salle de bain étaient vraiment déplorables. Le plancher de la chambre était tellement sale que nos souliers collaient au sol. La douche pleine de moissisures, et je ne parle pas de la brosse à laver la cuvette qui était vraiment dégoutante. J’ai souvent louer des chambres en auberge de jeunesse et je ne cherche pas la déco ou le confort absolu, juste un minimum de propreté. J’avais payé en totalité avant de voir la chambre...chose à ne pas faire car le propriétaire a refusé de nous remboursé en totalité et nous avons du trouvé un autre hôtel à la derniere minute. Je vous déconseille fortement cet endroit.

"titles, titles, and more titles"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Steven S. of Torrance, United States
Reviewed:   February 14, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
short and sweet: this place is in a great location, has a great staff, for a great price.

"loooved the Atlas House"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Jasmin R. of Illinois, United States
Reviewed:   February 11, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
vibes are the best out of any hostel I have ever been to! fun staff and great location made it an unforgettable stay!

"New Adventures and New Friends"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Morgan M. of San Diego, United States
Reviewed:   January 26, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My boyfriend and I booked the Atlas House for a few nights after looking for cheap places in New Orleans. We landed here and were so glad! Free pancake breakfasts every morning where we met a new person from a different country each day. An open private courtyard for yoga, relaxing, or enjoying a conversation and some sun. Also the home base for many nights of live music a walk through the city away.

The rooms are affordable and our single room had lots of space for two. The shared rooms are cozy, reminding me of my days in summer camp as a kid.

Come with a friendly spirit of adventure and you will be rewarded!

"Recent stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Melissa P. of Providence, United States
Reviewed:   January 22, 2020  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed here several times. Very comfortable and easy. GreaT location. I love the new mattresses, very comfortable.

"Good option for exploring French Quarter"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Omar B. of DC, United States
Reviewed:   November 22, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice hostel with great staff. Very close to the French Quarter. Only negatives are that the beds in the shared rooms are very creaky. There is also only one bathroom upstairs, but I didn't have to wait very long to take a shower.

"Not the best place to stay in NOLA"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Rodrigo A. of Mexico, Mexico
Reviewed:   November 7, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
One of the worst hostels I ever been. Not too close to Downton, not the cleanest or newest places. It was kind of old and requires to be maintained. Creaking doors, noisy air conditioning, dirty walls, floors and windows... sorry but I definitely wouldn't come back.

"No refund after owner promise"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Rachel S. of tel aviv, Israel
Reviewed:   November 2, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Had some extra chrged after promising there will be refund , the owner never been in the hostel , never answered to any of my mails , and when i checked out the guys that were receptionisht didnt knew what im talking about , people energy and staff good though

"Convenient and clean"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Maxine R. of Oakland, United States
Reviewed:   October 16, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Atlas House for convenience and cost. First time here but I stayed in other hostels. They have a staff that signs on through WorkAway and they provide cleaning servces and live on the premises. There is Wifi available and a common eating area with a refrigerator. It is co-ed. There was one bathroom for 8 people but it worked for me. They rent towels, which I didn't know about until I left. Magazine Street is a great location. I wouls stay there again and be better prepared.
They need to fix the door to the back dorm. It is loud and obnoxious when people come and go. It would also be helpful to post photos of the current house staff so that guests know who they are and don't have to ask random people for help. The refrigerator was packed and the cubbies in the bathroom do not look like they are cleaned out on a routine basis.

"Great location, awesome service"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Alvaro H. of Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   October 7, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
La ubicación del local está envidiable, fácil acceso desde el aeropuerto. The places to eat and drink are a few steps from front door and activities everyday at 8pm (be on time, because it rans out pretty quicly) but it was so fun, expect to come back in a near future.


1 - 10 of 208 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackersOfAmerica Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us