Backpackers Of America
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Great location, awesome service"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Alvaro H. of Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   October 7, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
La ubicación del local está envidiable, fácil acceso desde el aeropuerto. The places to eat and drink are a few steps from front door and activities everyday at 8pm (be on time, because it rans out pretty quicly) but it was so fun, expect to come back in a near future.

"Truly a House"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sankit G. of Houston, United States
Reviewed:   October 3, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had stayed at a hostel only once before my stay at Atlas House. Atlas house was an amazing experience to meet new people. I arrived around 9 pm and by 10 pm I was talking to 6 different people/friends. We went bar hoping for rest of the night and probably returned around 3 AM. The breakfast pancakes are just awesome - I'd suggest getting up at 8 to eat the pancakes and they you can go to sleep again :). The place is mostly run by volunteers who get a free stay in exchange of some work to keep the place welcoming. This should be renamed to Atlas Home because its quite home like.

"Great hostel!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Mimi F. of Troy, New York, United States
Reviewed:   September 21, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I LOVED staying at the Atlas Hostel! It’s in a safe, picturesque part of town and a quick walk from the French Quarter. It’s an incredible place to meet other travelers, while having a calm reprieve from the city. The hostel staff was warm, friendly and eager to provide recommendations for all things New Orleans. I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

"AC was broken, would not recommend"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Jacob M. of Austin, TX, United States
Reviewed:   August 5, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The AC was broken in the main building for my entire stay. They were able to move me to a building out back with working AC, but only after I asked, and there was limited space there--several others had to suffer through the heat. It's pretty unacceptable for a Louisiana hotel in late July, a legitimate safety issue--I don't see why they wouldn't have done everything in their power to get it fixed as soon as it broke. I'd recommend the IHSP French Quarter House instead, where I spent my other two nights--it's a similar price, though you have to account for parking, and everything was working the whole time.

"Suite stay at Atlas"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Cody J. of Shreveport, United States
Reviewed:   July 27, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2019     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff was excellent and home was great. I had no issues whatsoever. The shower had extremely low water pressure, as did the bathroom sink. This likely isn't the problem of the Atlas House. The age of NOLA's water mains likely sends debris into the pipes of all homes. Calling out a plumber every time the pressure drops might make tenants happier but can't overcome an aging infrastructure.

"Fantastic New Orleans"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Chia Hsin L. of Middletown, United States
Reviewed:   July 7, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2019     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The atlas house is very clean and cozy! The staff are really friendly and nice! Its location is really close to bus and streetcar!

"Great!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Kia T. of New York, NY, United States
Reviewed:   July 3, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The single room was very spacey and even had a fridge, microwave and half bathroom! Very pleased!

"Great hostel!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Yashika D. of Boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   June 30, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean, in a great location, friendly staff and fellow travellers, LGBT friendly. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer! I highly recommend this hostel.

"Great location"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Marleen T. of Miami Florida, United States
Reviewed:   May 28, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2019     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location, perfect to get everywhere (walking distance to cemeteries, French quarter, easy access to street cars)
Right on Magazine with many cute shops, boutiques and restaurants.
If you prefer a party experience there are better options to stay.
Nice staff. Friendly guests. Can only recommend.

"lovely"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Renzo S. of pass christian, United States
Reviewed:   May 16, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was a lovely stay. Close to the places I want to be in New Orleans. Clean helpful. Do not care for the Breakfast part, much nicer places down the road. A little mishap on the payment but it all got sorted.


1 - 10 of 199 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackersOfAmerica Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us